top of page

Pregnancy Update - 40 Weeks Pregnant

I am 40+1 weeks pregnant exactly today and every woman who has ever got to this point knows it is one of worse feelings ever because you are officially overdue :(!! We all hope and pray our little ones would of made an appearance for us who are carrying those stubborn babies they are going to make us wait just that little bit longer!!

I was unfortunately made to go to my local MAC unit yesterday, referred there by my community midwife the same day due to slightly out of the range blood pressure. Me and my partner arrived here around 12:30 and never left until just gone 7pm. They had to monitor my baby's heart rate and look at my contractions which both were completely normal! They tested blood and urine to detect for any infections or Pre Clampsia... again all clear. However, my blood pressure was still showing higher than it should so the midwives kept checking my blood pressure every hour. In the end they sent me home because I think they realised that keeping me in was making me 10x worse. But I have to go for another check up tomorrow so I will keep everyone updated as to how I get on.

Symptoms

So other than increased period pains and braxton hicks contractions I haven't got many other symptoms. My heartburn seems to be much much better!!! I have been getting more back pains which usually tend to ease on it's own but if it don't budge the help of Paracetamols always helps.

40 Week Antenatal Appointment

So yesterday I had my 40 week antenatal appointment, it's not any different really to your other appointments. I got offered a membrane sweep however I didn't end up getting it done as I had to go to MAC straight after the appointment due to high blood pressure. My midwife measured the baby and felt him and he is engaged and ready. My midwife reckons I am in the early stages of labor just not established as my body isn't creating a labor pattern yet. His heartbeat was healthy so other than my blood pressure I had nothing to worry about.

40 Week Pregnant Belly

Okay so please ignore my Snoopy PJ's and my boyfriends Superdry hoodie but that is the joys of reaching 40 weeks pregnant. My belly as you can tell hasn't really got much bigger but by the day I am getting lower and lower where my baby is gradually going into my pelvis. I have got some stretch marks only appeared in the last 2 weeks and hopefully my little man will be hear soon.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page